Lakehead Thunderwolves Mens Hockey
Facebook YouTube Twitter Instagram
HOME

11/22/2008: LAKEHEAD - 3 @ BROCK - 0

WOLVES SWEEP BADGERS WITH CONSECUTIVE ROAD SHUTOUTS

Mike Aylward
Saturday, November 22, 2008

The CIS No. 9 Lakehead Thunderwolves men’s hockey team earned an away sweep with a second consecutive 3-0 road win over the Brock Badgers Saturday night in St. Catharine’s, Ontario.  The two consecutive road shutouts in one series were a first in Thunderwolves Hockey history as were the two consecutive shutouts by sophomore netminder Kyle Moir.

Lakehead goes to 9-3-2 in OUA play (11-5-2 overall) while Brock has a 6-5-3 OUA mark.

Lakehead junior forward Brock McPherson again led the Wolves offensively with a goal and an assist.  The other Lakehead goals came from freshman d-man Kalvin Sagert and senior Shandor Alphonso. 

Sophomore netminder Kyle Moir (5-2-1 OUA) notched his second consecutive shutout for Lakehead; turning aside 15 Brock shots to get the shutout victory.  Brock freshman netminder Kyle Jory (5-5-3) recorded the loss for the Badgers.  Shots on goal were 20-15 for the Wolves.

Lakehead was 1-7 on the powerplay and the Wolves held the Badgers powerplay scoreless for the second consecutive night; denying Brock on six powerplay opportunities.    

Lakehead continues OUA action next weekend at home at the Fort William Gardens when the Wolves host the Guelph Gryphons for a two-game homestand. 

Lakehead 08-09 Results:
Sat Nov 22 Lakehead 3 Brock 0
Fri Nov 21 Lakehead 3 Brock 0
Sat Nov 15 York 7 Lakehead 6 OL
Fri Nov 14 Lakehead 3 York 1
Sat Nov 8 Lakehead 6 UOIT 3
Fri Nov 7 Lakehead 5 UOIT 1
Sat Nov 1 Lakehead 5 Western 2
Fri Nov 31 Western 3 Lakehead 0
Sat Oct 25 Lakehead 6 Laurier 1
Fri Oct 24 Laurier 3 Lakehead 2 OL SO
Sat Oct 18 Lakehead 2 Waterloo 1
Fri Oct 17 Waterloo 7 Lakehead 5
Sat Oct 11 Lakehead 6 Windsor 1
Fri Oct 10 Windsor 3 Lakehead 1
Sun Oct 5 MN-Duluth 6 Lakehead 0 EX
Sat Oct 4 Saint Mary's 2 Lakehead 0 NC
Fri Oct 3 Lakehead 3 Saint Mary's 1 NC
Sat Sep 27 Carleton 3 Lakehead 2 NC
Fri Sep 26 Lakehead 3 Carleton 2 NC PPD Sat SO

Lakehead 3 at Brock 0 Nov 22, 2008 - Seymour-Hannah Centre
1st Period
Scoring
- 1. Lakehead, B. McPherson (11) (D. Speer, A. Brown) 4:09 
2. Lakehead, K. Sagert (2) (B. McPherson) 9:24 PP
Penalties - R. Allen Bro (inter. on goaltender) 5:40, C. McLean Bro (roughing) 8:15, S. Alphonso Lkhd (tripping) 9:53, A. Schwark Bro (cross checking) 13:55, K. Hogg Lkhd (high sticking) 19:04

2nd Period
Scoring
- No Scoring
Penalties - K. Sagert Lkhd (cross checking) 2:19, B. Flynn Bro (high sticking) 5:19, M. Soares Lkhd (tripping) 7:26, A. Brown Lkhd (tripping) 14:02, B. McPherson Lkhd (interference) 17:00

3rd Period
Scoring
- 3. Lakehead, S. Alphonso (2) (A. Alphonso) 19:21 EN
Penalties - I. Smeltzer Bro (high sticking) 6:55, I. Smeltzer Bro (hooking) 11:18, S. Miller Bro (boarding) 11:58

LKHD Shots: 6 4 10 TOTAL: 20
BRO Shots: 3 9 3 TOTAL: 15

Power Play Conversion
Lakehead 1-7. Brock 0-6.

Goaltenders
Lakehead
Moir 5-2-1 Start: 1st 0:00 Min: 60:00 SV: 15 GA: 0 [W]
Brock
Jory 5-5-3-0 Start: 1st 0:00 Min: 59:39 SV: 17 GA: 2 [L]

SCORING SUMMARY
PERIOD 1:
1. 04:09 Lakehead, Brock McPherson (Dan Speer, Andrew Brown) 2. 09:24 Lakehead, Kalvin Sagert (Brock McPherson) PP
Penalties: 01:15 Brock, Allen (GLT INT)04:30 Brock, McLean (RO)06:06 Lakehead, Shandor Alphonso (TR)08:30 Brock, Schwark (CC)14:28 Lakehead, Kris Hogg (HS)
PERIOD 2:
No Scoring

Penalties: 04:14 Lakehead, Kalvin Sagert (CC)07:12 Brock, Flynn (HS)09:24 Lakehead, Mark Soares (TR)13:27 Lakehead, Andrew Brown (TR)17:54 Lakehead, Brock McPherson (INT)
PERIOD 3:
3. 19:21 Lakehead, Shandor Alphonso (Arron Alphonso) EN
Penalties: 05:28 Brock, Smeltzer (HS)14:24 Brock, Smetzler (HKG)16:41 Brock, Miller (BRD)
Lakehead: Kyle Moir, 15 saves made, 0 goals against.Brock: Joy, 18 saves made, 2 goals against.